• Press Release

Distinguished Academics appointed to the Fellowship of the British Blockchain Association

Professor Bill Buchanan OBE, Professor Mary Lacity and Professor Kevin Curran are among 11 people appointed to the prestigious Fellowship of The British Blockchain Association. The new Fellows were appointed on 29 January 2019 and inducted on 12 March at The Blockchain International Scientific Conference, London.

‘We received 217 nominations, of which 38 were self-nominations. To be eligible for the award of Fellowship, candidate must have fulfilled at least 8 out of the 11 essential eligibility criteria. The award of Fellowship is a recognition of exceptional achievement, excellence, leadership, advancing standards and best practice in the field of Distributed Ledger Technologies and Cryptocurrencies’, said Dr. Mureed Hussain, Secretary of The British Blockchain Association.

'These Fellows have made a substantial contribution to the field of Blockchain. They are an asset, not just to the BBA and the JBBA, but to the rest of the world’, said Dr. Naseem Naqvi, President of The British Blockchain Association.

The BBA was established in 2017 and now has Fellows based in the USA, Australia, Singapore, France, UK, Italy and The Netherlands.

The inaugural Fellows are:

Professor Dr. Mary Cecilia Lacity FBBA

(Director, Blockchain Centre of Excellence, University of Arkansas, Sam M. Walton College of Business, USA)

Professor Dr. Jason Potts FBBA

(Professor of Economics & Director of Blockchain Innovation Hub, RMIT University, Australia

Professor Dr. William J. Buchanan FBBA

(Professor of Computing and Cryptography, Edinburgh Napier University, UK)

Dr. Marcella Atzori FBBA

(European Commission Blockchain Expert & Blockchain Advisor, European Parliament, Italy)

Professor Dr. Marc Pilkington FBBA

(Associate Professor of Economics, University of Burgundy, France)

Professor Dr. John Domingue FBBA

(Director, Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University, UK)

Professor Dr. David Lee K Chuen FBBA

(Professor of Economics, Singapore University of Social Sciences, Singapore)

Professor Dr. Kevin Curran FBBA

(Professor of Cybersecurity, Ulster University, UK)

Professor Dr. Jim KS Liew FBBA

(Assistant Professor of Finance, The Johns Hopkins University, USA)

Dr. Sean Manion FBBA

(CEO Science Distributed and American College of Military Public health, USA)

Professor Dr. Eric P M Vermeulen FBBA

(Professor of Business & Financial Law, Tilburg University, The Netherlands)

For more information, visit:



Professor Dr. Mary Lacity, Inaugural Fellow of The British Blockchain Association

  • BBA YouTube
  • BBA Medium
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter

Copyright © 2017-18

British Blockchain Association

All Rights Reserved

The BBA CLG Ltd Inc

A Not-for-Profit Organisation

Registered in England & Wales

Registration Number 11091328

Kemp House
152 - 160 City Road
London, EC1V 2NX
United Kingdom